Friday, December 20, 2013

Cover Reveal: Seducing Lauren by Kristen Proby


We are pleased to be able to share the cover for Kristen Proby's SEDUCING LAUREN. SEDUCING LAUREN is a sexy Contemporary Erotic Romance novel releasing August 19, 2014! It is the second book in Kristen’s Love Under The Big Sky Series, published by Pocket Books (an imprint of Simon & Schuster). The first book in the series, LOVING CARA, is due to be released January 21st!!!



SEDUCING LAUREN
Cover



ABOUT SEDUCING LAUREN:


In the second book in the Love Under the Big Sky series from this USA TODAY bestselling author of the With Me in Seattle series, life in Montana gets spicy when a woman and her divorce lawyer sign off the papers—and sign on to love.
Now that his best friend, Josh, has happily settled down with his true love on a Montana ranch, small-town lawyer Ty Sullivan starts thinking that maybe single life isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. And when Lauren Cunningham’s no-good ex-husband comes after her for an unexpected trust fund, Ty steps in to protect her. But soon he can’t help but think of her as more than a client. Lauren’s in no mood to jump into another relationship, so how can Ty convince her that her mistake wasn’t getting married, but marrying the wrong guy?




Author
photoABOUT KRISTEN PROBY:

KRISTEN PROBY is the USA Today bestselling author of the popular With Me in Seattle series. She has a passion for a good love story and strong characters who love humor and have a strong sense of loyalty and family. Her men are the alpha type—fiercely protective and a bit bossy—and her ladies are fun, strong, and not afraid to stand up for themselves. Kristen spends her days with her muse in the Pacific Northwest. She enjoys coffee, chocolate, and sunshine. And naps. Visit her at KristenProby.com.



Links:


Twitter: @handbagjunkie







Thursday, December 19, 2013

Review: Sex Love Repeat by Alessandra Torre


Summary: 
I love two men. I screw two men. I am in a relationship with them both, and they are both aware there is another. That is all they need to know, that is all I let them know. They don’t need to know a name; they don’t need to know anything but that they are not alone in my heart. 

They have accepted the situation. Stewart, because his life is too busy for the sort of obligations that are required in a relationship. Paul, because he loves me too much to tell me no. And because my sexual appetite is such that one man has trouble keeping up. 

So we exist, two parallel relationships, each running their own course, with no need for intersection or conflict. It works for us, for them, and for me. I don’t expect it to be a long-term situation. I know there is an expiration date on the easy perfection of our lives. 

I should have paid more attention, should have looked around and noticed the woman who watched it all. She sat in the background and waited, tried to figure me out. Saw my two relationships, the love between us, and the moment that it all fell apart. 

She hates me. 
I don’t even know she exists. 
She loves them. I love them. 
And they love me. 

EVERYTHING else hangs in the balance.



My Thoughts:

***I received a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review***

I was so excited to receive this book! The summary sounded right up my alley and I could not wait to get started. Madison is the type of female character I love! She is strong, sexy, and comfortable in her own skin. She has no problem wanting and liking sex. Why should boys get to have all the fun?  :)

At the beginning of the book, I had no idea how it was going to develop. Will it finish as a menage? Will one man step down? Will she loose them both? Am I going to be annoyed with a love triangle?To many feels!!!!

I loved the relationship that Madison has developed with both Stewart and Paul. While they both obviously see to her physical needs, they both also give her something the other one cannot. Stewart is more the demanding and controlling type of man. Paul, while still possessive and you can tell at times he struggles with letting Madison go to Stewart, is much more affectionate and is able to spend more time with her. She loves them both. At first I didn't understand how, but luckily Ms. Torre took us back to the beginning where it all started so that we could see how Madison's love progressed for each man.

That "she" mentioned in the blurb? Did not see that one coming. Off all of the people to fall in love with, and the Universe chose those two? Must be fate! :)

The only thing that kept this from being a five star read was the ending. Don't get me wrong, it seems everyone gets their HEA.....but I'm selfish and I wanted more. I felt it just came together too quickly and much too clean. There was some angst, but right as you started to feel it...it disappeared. Don't short me on my feels! 

Overall this is a great read and I loved how original it felt. It is rare to get a book that does not remind you of another. Great job Ms. Torre.  :)

My Rating: 4 Stars!


Links to Buy:

About the Author:

Checkout her webpage for more information
Or visit her on Facebook and Twitter


Thursday, November 28, 2013

Feature & Follow



Q: What’s your favorite Thanksgiving Day food? If you’re not American or Canadian, what is your favorite holiday food?


My favorite Thanksgiving Day food would have to be stuffing. I love the turkey, the potatoes, yams, and rolls, but there is just something about the stuffing that is just perfect! If I had it my way I would have it more often, but then I would probably get tired of it. :(

What is your favorite Thanksgiving Day food?


Review: Unforgiven by Elizabeth Finn

Summary:
A mistake made long ago…

Pain buried so deep…

When Bailey Trent returns home to her small little Ozark mountain town after being away for nearly six years, she knows she’ll face the ghosts of her past. It does not mean she’s prepared to come face to face with the cruelest of those memories.

Darren Cory’s life is a shell of what it once was, and when he’s forced to endure the cause of his agony, hatred abounds quickly. But hating Bailey destroys him too.

Can Darren find a way to move past the pain and forgive the woman he once cared so much for before his anger consumes them both? Or will he drag them into the hell of an unforgiven past.





My Thoughts:


****Warning! This review contains spoilers! If you have not read this book, do NOT read this review!******

One choice. One decision. One mistake. That is all it takes to loose everything you have and everything you had hoped for. 

Bailey represents many young adults who decide to get behind the wheel intoxicated. She didn't think she was that drunk. She didn't think that anyone would get hurt. She certainly never meant to mess up her life so badly, but unfortunately sometimes our decisions have consequences that we never foresee.

Bailey has just gotten out of jail. She is trying to pick up the pieces of her life and trying to start over. That is easier said than done. Not only does she have to deal with her own guilt over killing her best friend, but it seems everyone in town would be more than happy to never see her again. She has the support of her mother and her friend Michelle, but that is where the love for her ends.

Darren is the brother of the best friend she killed, and also the man she loved. Darren, bless his heart, is confused, angry, and feels betrayed. He trusted Bailey, and even though his own sister was drunk that night as well, he has no sympathy for Bailey at all. In fact, his hatred has begun to control his every thought. Emotions he thought he had buried a long time ago have decided to make an appearance. Even worse, he finds that he is still attracted to Bailey. 

This story is about working through the hardships that come with life and coming out on the side of forgiveness. How do you forgive someone when they took away someone you love? How can you still love that person that you hate with everything you have?

This story made me cry. Not just once, but multiple times. All Bailey wants is to go back in time and she can't. She just wants someone to understand and love her for her mistakes. She wishes she could even forgive herself. Darren wants her out of his life, but can't make it without her. This is a roller coaster of a ride that will have you on the edge of your seat the whole time. There is nothing dull about this book and I dare anyone to read it without crying. 

Elizabeth Finn did a wonderful job of capturing the emotion and the hardship of making that one bad decision. I cannot wait to see what she will write next!

My Rating: 5 Stars!


Links to Buy:


About the Author:
Elizabeth Finn is an Iowa native, where she lives with her husband and son. Elizabeth loves all things romance and enjoys immersing herself in the world of writing contemporary erotic romance stories. Look for more to come from Elizabeth Finn.

Visit Elizabeth at ElizabethFinnFiction.com, Facebook.com/ElizabethFinnFiction or email to ElizabethFinn77@gmail.com. She would love to hear from you!




Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Review: Reaper's Property by Joanna Wylde


Summary:
Marie doesn’t need a complication like Horse. The massive, tattooed, badass biker who shows up at her brother’s house one afternoon doesn’t agree. He wants Marie on his bike and in his bed. Now.

But Marie just left her abusive jerk of an ex-husband and she’s not looking for a new man. Especially one like Horse—she doesn’t know his real name or where he lives, she’s ninety percent certain he’s a criminal and that the “business” he talks with her brother isn’t website design. She needs him out of her life, which would be a snap if he’d just stop giving her mind-blowing orgasms.

Horse is part of the Reapers Motorcycle Club, and when he wants something, he takes it. What he wants is Marie, but she’s not interested in becoming “property of”.

Then her brother steals from the club. Marie can save him by giving Horse what he wants—at home, in public, on his bike… If she’s a very, very good girl, she’ll get lots more of those orgasms only he can offer, and he’ll let her brother live.
Maybe.

A Romantica® contemporary erotic romance from Ellora’s Cave


My Thoughts:
This is the first book I have had the pleasure of reading from this author, and I can honestly say that I am now and forever a fan. Reaper's Property is not some fairy tale story where the princess is protected, dumb, and weak. This book dwells into real life. Where the prince isn't always a good guy and nothing is perfect. 

I liked how in the beginning of the book, the chapters would flip back and forth between the past and present to give us a better idea of what had led up to the starting point of the book. I also liked seeing things from both Horse's POV and Marie's. Without both, it would be really hard to understand both of the characters. Some of their actions don't make sense until they later reflect upon them. 

Marie is a fighter. She has finally left her husband and has moved in with her brother, Jeff. It is not the best of circumstances, but at least she is safe and happy. That is until the Reaper's show up. Marie's brother is a piece of work. While I honestly believe he cares about his sister, some of his decisions are just plain stupid.  I wanted to reach into the book and shake him, because Jeff has done something so stupid that it's about to cost him his life. He stole from a Motorcycle Club. And not just any club, but the Reapers. 

Horse is an alpha male who also rides a motorcycle. Yum! Even better, he is in the Reaper's. *Swoon* He is possessive, rude, and can be a real asshole but he also has a soft side that makes it hard not to love him. From the moment he meets Marie, he knows that she will be his. (In his alpha "all knowing" way) Unfortunately for him, Marie has other plans. Horse always gets what he wants though so when the opportunity presents itself to just take Marie, he does. He offers her a deal. Her willingly coming with him and to his bed, and they won't kill her brother. 

I loved the chemistry between Horse and Marie. They are both so stubborn and set in their ways. They both had to struggle to understand each other and Marie had to come to terms with the way of the MC. Very steamy read, and I don't think anyone's ovaries will ever be the same.  

By the end of the book I was in shock by all the twists and turns! I did not see the ending coming. I had some suspicions, but I did not think it would end like that. :( The good part that came out of it was Horse and Marie. :)

This book is a must read for all who love a bad boy, alpha male who is possessive, talks dirty, and isn't afraid to take what he thinks is his. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series!

My Rating: 5 Stars!



Links to buy:

Amazon
Barnes&Noble


About the Author:



Friday, May 24, 2013

Review: Rock Chick by Kristen Ashley

Summary:
Indy Savage, cop's daughter, rock chick and used bookstore owner, has been in love with Lee Nightingale, once bad boy, now the man behind Nightingale Investigations, since she was five years old. No matter what ingenious schemes Indy used to capture his attention, Lee never showed an interest and Indy finally gave up. Now Indy's employee, Rosie, has lost a bag of diamonds and bad guys are shooting at him. When Indy gets involved, Lee is forced to help. Complicating matters, Lee has decided he's interested, Indy's decided she's not. But she can't seem to keep Lee out of her life when she's repeatedly stun gunned, kidnapped and there are car bombs exploding (not to mention she's finding dead bodies).

Indy's best bet is to solve the mystery of the diamonds before Lee. Lee's challenge is to keep Indy alive and, at the same time, win back her heart.


My Thoughts:
Holy cow where to start with this one?!?!?!? I have always been a Kristen Ashley fan but for some reason I always put off reading the Rock Chick series. No I don't have a brain tumor or anything, I have no explanation for my idiocy! To put it short and sweet like, I loved this book. 

Indy is officially my favorite female character of all time. No one does it like a Rock Chick! :) There was some backstory at the beginning that I was really glad was there. INdy's narative helped us readers catch up to where she is in life and where she isn't with Lee. :( Indy is a no nonsense type of woman who does not take sh*t from anyone. She speaks her mind, rocks out in killer clothes, and lives life like she wants to. And I was very very glad she decided to sleep in Lee's bed that night. :)

Lee is the ultimate book boyfriend. He has his own private investigation business, or whatever it is he does (as he can be kind of scary with his knowledge and nohow sometimes) and Indy has landed smack dab in the middle of the situation with his latest client. Lee decides that he has waited enough for Indy and decides to make her his own. Indy isn't too sure about this but Lee obviously has his ways of convincing her. :)

I loved all of the shinanigans that Indy and Ally get into. Between car bombs and kidnappings, there is not one dull moment in this book! I know it might have come out a while ago but I would recommend this book to everyone looking for a good laugh and lots of adventure!!!

My Rating: 5 Stars!



Links to Buy:

About the Author:
Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA. She nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorise and she hadn't taken her first breath!).

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana but has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multi-generational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland and existed amongst the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.


And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better

Friday, March 8, 2013

Blog Tour: I Kissed a Dog by Carol Van Atta Book Review, Guest Blog & Giveaway!


I Kissed a Dog
The Werewolves of the West Series Book One
Carol Van Atta

Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Cambridge Press US under the umbrella of Charles River Press (CRP)

ISBN:  1936185725 
ISBN13: 9781936185726
ASIN: B009SV179U

Number of pages: 446

Cover Artist: Ann Falcone


Book Description:

Chloe Carpenter isn't like other women. She can communicate with animals. A gift she unwrapped following one of her frequent dances with death.

 In her otherwise wacky life, she's finally found a semblance of sanity working at the Plum Beach Wildlife Park, where her unique talents can make life or death differences for the animals in her care. That semblance is shattered when a new veterinarian roars into the park in his spiffed up sports car and sets his golden gaze on her. If she had her way, he'd roar right back out.

Problem: He's her new coworker and he's saved her life twice - in the past twenty-four hours.

Zane Marshall, Enforcer for the Pacific Pack of purebred werewolves, has a job to do - figure out who or what is mutilating the young men of Plum Beach.

With orders to find the woman who talks to animals, he accepts a position working alongside the fiery Chloe Carpenter, a female who ignites his interest far more than he ever expected. Remarkably, she's the one elusive female with potential to bring meaning and passion to his empty existence.

Problem: She despises him.

Together, they're forced to unravel a mystery of supernatural proportions, a murderous mystery with eternal implications for everyone. In the process, they discover opposites really do attract.

Major Problem: Zane is pledged to another woman, and she'll do anything to keep him from Chloe.

Guest Blog:

Addicted to Love, Romance, and Relationships?
Remember Reality!
Carol Van Atta

Like most authors of paranormal romance, I like the idea of love and romance with a paranormal twist or two that spices things up for the couple. I’m also a fan of love that is intense, at times irrational, and often impulsive. It makes for great reading.  However, because of the hot topics we write and/or read about, we might want to consider adding a warning label to our special brand of sexy, supernatural shenanigans.

Warning: Hot and Heavy Romance leading to heated hormones and hellacious heartbreak may result from attempting replicate the relationships in this book.

What I’m saying … we need to keep our feelings for steamy supernatural romances that have the potential to shred our hearts and maybe even our hope, in check.
So, let me ask you, have your friends ever pointed out your relationship failures? Ever heard the word co-dependent and cringed? Do you excuse and tolerate behaviors that are unacceptable and hurtful in your mate? For example: He makes me bleed because he can’t help himself. He is, after all, a vampire. Or … he only bosses me around when the moon is full; remember he’s a werewolf.

If you can answer “yes” to any of the above questions, you just might be in an unhealthy relationship and possibly addicted to love, romance, or the idea of participating in a relationship despite the painful consequences and high emotional price tag.
I know the scenario all too well. It’s easy to fall for those alpha males we inhale like a breath of fresh air while devouring our favorite romances, paranormal or otherwise. The stories make dysfunctional and dare I say, at times, borderline abusive men appear so tantalizing. They also tempt us with the notion that can’t live without a specific relationship/person … think Bella sitting in that darn chair following Edward’s departure in the Breaking Dawn, The Movie.

Why am I bringing up this depressing topic on Valentine’s Day?

Because it’s important to remember the books we read, featuring men who ultimately bring danger and even disaster to our lives aren’t good for us in the real world. We don’t have super powers, (unless you’re hiding something) to combat the villains and vicious characters that seem to cling to these men like a pair of poured on leather pants. Nor are we equipped to handle all the chaos that accompanies them, roaring down the main street of our heart.

But the main reason, friends, is because I care. I know what it’s like to search for love in the darkness hoping it would light up my life. Unfortunately, I ended up with a blood thirsty vampire latched onto my neck unwilling to release his relentless and painful hold. What seemed so enticing and intoxicating in the beginning became poison to my heart and life. When a vampire is attached to your throat, it’s hard to live life, let alone experience love.

This special post is just a reminder for us to enjoy the lethal love in the books we read, without allowing our desire for love and romance to overpower our commonsense.
On the lighter side, this is what makes reading paranormal romances the safe and better option. I took this from my website.

Why write a series of books about wolfy-men, who according to legend, howl at the moon, shed fur, and shred their victims with their big teeth - oh my?

I think the explanation can't ignore the psychology of women. Do I speak for all women? Of course, not! But I do know (right or wrong) a wide range of women (myself included) are, or have been at some point in the past, drawn to "bad boys," men who for whatever reason live daringly adventurous lives, doing things that often cause them to stand apart from other less intense guys, the type of guys we might refer to as uber reliable or b-o-r-i-n-g. Bad boys are so refreshingly far from boring, they're not even on the same map. They're typically easy on the eyes, usually in a non-traditional way, and have strong, possibly overbearing personalities; they are decidedly masculine in every sense of the word.  Dare we say they're predatory? They take control, go after what they want, and are nowhere near tame. Feral. Wild. Sexy. Dangerous. Yep. They're beastly. And what's more beastly than a werewolf? See my point?

If you want tame, werewolves are not for you. Danger isn't for everyone. Yet, I challenge you to take a long look at the desires of your heart. Do you crave adventure? Excitement? Passion?  If you're breathing, I suspect you've wished for those very things a time or two ... or three hundred. Don't worry. And don't be ashamed. You're so not alone.

Men with supernatural tendencies tend to live outside the box we call normal. Excitement, danger, and passion cling to them like peanut butter to jelly. Yummy! And we just can't help but want a taste. Granted, we may live our safe, predictable lives, but opening a book that rockets us into a world of romance, intrigue, and danger, along with a good dose of humor, allows us to experience those bad boys without the not-always-positive side effects. In other words, we can safely enjoy danger and desire without breaking a nail or nursing a broken heart.

That final sentence says it all.  We can enjoy our wolfy guys from the safety of our favorite arm chair, without putting ourselves in harm’s way.

However, if you’ve found yourself dealing with an unwanted and toxic relationship, I’d like to recommend a resource you might want to check out. The book, Biting Back, by Claudia Cunningham, is a no-nonsense, no garlic guide to facing the personal vampires in your life.

Be safe. Love. Live. And read. Happy Valentine’s Day.

                                                          

My Thoughts:

This was an excellent start to a series and I was so happy to read this book!

Chloe isn't your average 24 year old. She's got some hidden talents that make life pretty interesting even before the Supernatural community starts to take notice of her. The last thing she needs is more trouble, or so she thinks! At the beginning of the book I had a little trouble connecting with Chloe. The writing was good, I just felt she was looking for any excuse to be mad at Zane. Her emotions were all over the place! Luckily as the book went on, and all the supernaturals came out to play I began to understand Chloe better and have more respect for her. Everyone around her has a secret, people are dying, there is a hot werewolf that would do anything to protect her, and one evil women that Zane has been pledged to since he was a child. It is enough to make anyone's head spin!

It was so easy to fall in love with Zane. So easy going while at the same time fiercely protective and loyal. Until he met Chloe he was beginning to feel trapped, but to him she is everything he was been waiting for. He is not immune to secret keeping in this book, but I honestly felt he had good reasons for the keeping the secrets he did. I felt so heartbroken for him when Chloe revealed her secrets. All this time she has pushed him away because of his lies while keeping huge ones of her own!

There is a lot of information to take in while reading! At times it was almost overwhelming trying to understand how all the other characters fit into the murders and betrayals. Who was a good guy and who was the bad guy? Until the end you really aren't sure, and even then I found myself wondering if I could still be wrong about some characters! 

This book kept me on my toes and played with my emotions. I loved it! Some books are so predictable, but not this one. You never knew when you were going to get hit by a curve ball and I could not have even tried to predict half of the things that unfolded as the story progressed. I am so excited to see what Carol Van Atta does in the next book of the series! With everyone conspiring with their own hidden agendas, I'm worried about how my favorite characters will survive!


My Rating: 4 Stars!


 Links to Buy!



Giveaway!





About the Author:


Like most authors, Carol Van Atta is no stranger to the written word. She penned a short novel at age 12 (somewhat frightening illustrations included, and lots of bunnies were involved), and had a creative writing piece published in her high school newspaper (about David Bowie's Diamond Dogs LP). Yes, she's an ex-80's chick.

Devouring books from numerous genres, Carol developed a deep thirst/hunger for more reading material, and could almost always be found with her nose in a book.

She has contributed to several popular inspirational anthologies and devotional books, and lives in the rainy wetland of Oregon with a terrifying teen (another in college) and a small zoo of animals. She is taking an undetermined hiatus away from inspirational writing to delve into her darker side. (Though you can check out her latest spiritual suspense novel, Soul Defenders). It is rumored that this genre-jumping occurred after Carol discovered too suspicious red marks on her neck, and experienced an unquenchable urge to howl at the moon.







Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Book Review: Play With Me by Kristen Proby

Summary:
Will Montgomery is a successful professional football player and seemingly has it all. He’s not used to being told no, and certainly doesn’t take no for an answer. So when he turns his charms on his sister’s sexy rocker-chick friend Meg, he’s not only turned down, but met with open hostility, piquing his curiosity and libido. He’s determined to show her that he’s not the arrogant jock she thinks he is, and to get her into his bed.

Megan McBride is not impressed with Will Montgomery, his fat contract, fancy car, or his arrogant public persona. She doesn’t have time for a relationship, and if she’s learned anything in life, it’s that loving means losing, so she guards her heart ferociously. But she can’t deny the overwhelming attraction to the sexy, tattooed athlete, and when Will starts breaking down her defenses and grabs hold of her heart, will she be able to admit her feelings for him, or will her troubled past cause her to lose the first man she’s ever truly loved?


My Thoughts:
After reading the summary, the bones and structure for the book were there and Proby had some really good characters, but I felt that the book kind of flopped. 



I was really excited for this book to come out. The first and second book in the series were really great. Great characters, great plot, and great writing. Unfortunately, this book did not hit all three. 

For me the plot let me down. Most books hit some sort of climax, where a character undergoes some sort of personal growth or something happens that must then be overcome, but I felt like that didn't happen in this book. Yes there was an issue Meg had to get over, but the issue didn't seem real. I know she had trust issues when it came to certain feelings and expressing those feelings, but the whole scenario just did not seem realistic. It felt forced and while the book ended with a HEA, I felt like there was no actual growth to the main characters. I would have liked to have seen a more realistic setting for Meg and Will. 

Proby's writing is great. SHe does a really good job of setting her scenes, and getting across what her characters are feeling and trying to express. I was especially happy with her bedroom scenes. There was so much heat coming off of the pages I could almost see the steam. :)

I think the characters in this book are great and the writing is really good, but the plot needs some work. Other than that it was a good fast read. I would still recommend this book!

My Rating: 3 Stars!


Links to Buy!


About the Author:
Kristen is the author of the Amazon and USA Today bestselling With Me In Seattle series. She has a passion for a good love story and strong characters who love humor and have a strong sense of loyalty and family. Her men are the alpha type; fiercely protective and a bit bossy, and her ladies are fun, strong, and not afraid to stand up for themselves.

Kristen spends her days with her muse in the Pacific Northwest. She enjoys coffee, chocolate and sunshine. And naps.