Thursday, January 22, 2015

ARC Review: The Untouchables by J.J. McAvoy

TheUntouchables Tour

The UntouchablesRuthless People #2
Publication Date: January 22, 2015
Also in this series: 
The Untouchables
Genres: ContemporaryDarkRomance

Book 2 in the Ruthless People Trilogy.
"One Secret. Multiple Casualties.”
Everything Melody Callahan has ever been told about her past is a lie. Her father lied. Her husband lied. But like all secrets…they come out. Not only is her mother, Aviela, alive but she won’t stop until she tears down everything Liam and Melody have spent the past year building.
With a new target on their back and the media now focused on their family as the Presidential election approaches, Liam and Melody must fight on two battlefronts. Melody is torn between being in love with Liam and wanting to kill him for lying to her. Being in love and showing love are two different things in her world. Liam wants to do anything to protect his family even if that means hurting the people he loves.
Family is everything… but what happens when they’re out for your blood? Everything they have been through is nothing compared to what is coming...
***Warning: This book contains adult language and subject matter including graphic violence and explict sex that may be disturbing for some readers. This book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.***

Buy Links:


Additional Material
The Untouchables Soundtrack
The Untouchables Prologue and Chapter One
The Untouchables Trailer: 

My Thoughts:

In Ruthless People we met Mel and Liam and fell in love with them and the family. At the end, plans were put into place that play a huge part in this next installment of the series. I would encourage anyone to read the Ruthless People first!! There are things that will make much more sense.

The Untouchables was everything a reader could hope for! The cover did not lie. You can feel the love between Mel and Liam (as much as she won't admit it half the time :) ), you feel the betrayal that Mel goes through, and by the end you fear what is going to come next!

This book was a rollercoaster. At times I couldn't stop laughing, but there were other times I was so scared for Mel and Liam and angry at others. While they don't live a typical lifestyle, I still want them to have a happy ending to their story...or I guess one that Mel would approve of. :)

In Ruthless People, Liam really fought for Mel and their marriage, but there are still some underlying issues that have to be worked out. And if you know Liam, he takes those issues head on in his own unique way. I was glad to see the continued growth of their love and marriage, as well as the continued character growth we see when we are inside Mel's head. Which at times is not a happy place to be with everything that is thrown at her. I admire her strength, courage, and how she has made a name for herself in a world dominated by men.

The betrayal...was one of the hardest parts of the book! I thought I saw it coming but I still had hope that things would not go down that road. I wanted to throw my Kindle at the wall, but had to refrain.

The slight cliffhanger has me climbing up the walls for the third book! I absolutely love McAvoy's writing and how she is not afraid to write her characters as they are, not how others think they should be. I have loved both of her books so far and can't wait to see what she writes next.

My Rating: 5 Stars!
Add to Goodreads
J. J. McAvoy first started working on Ruthless People during a Morality and Ethics lecture her freshman year of college. X number of years later, she is an insomniac who has changed her major three times, and is a master in the art of procrastination. If you ask her why she began writing, she will simply tell you “They wanted to get their story out.”
She is currently working on her next novel . . . so please bug her on Twitter @JJMcAvoy
Website • Blog • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads

Monday, December 22, 2014

ARC Review: Marked by Rebecca Zanetti

Janie Kayrs has known Zane almost her whole life. He was her friend in the dream world. She trusted him. But that was before he kidnapped her, spiriting her away to an isolated cabin to learn what her dreams never told her. Like how dangerous he looks. How he got on the wrong side of the negotiating table. And how much sexier he is in real life…

Zane is a battle-hardened warrior, used to command and solitude. But Janie has drawn him from the minute they met. His need for her could destroy everything he’s worked for, but the risk is too sweet not to take it. They call her the Chosen One. But when it comes down to the questions of peace or war, life or death, safety or passion, it will be Janie who makes the choice…

My Thoughts:
This is my favorite series by Zanetti, and I was thrilled and honored to receive a copy via Netgalley for review.  

For the past six books we have watched Janie Kayrs find a new family, grow, and wrap the Kayrs men around her little fingers. Now, she will all grown up and she is ready to take on whatever Fate has in store for her. 

I loved being in Janie's head. While she makes mistakes, she is very mature and I loved  that even though she was only human, she would do anything to protect her family...even sacrifice herself!

I think Zane was the biggest surprise in this book. We finally find out what he is, and while I always thought something of the sort could be a possibility, I was still shocked when the truth came out. I thought it couldn't get any worse, but then it did, and I was shocked again!!!

The only part I struggled with was Kalin. I wanted to hate him for everything he was apart of, but at the same time I still remember that little boy from the beginning of the series and my heart breaks. 

If you have followed the series though this wild adventure and heartbreak, then I would encourage you to pick up a copy of Marked as soon as humanly possible! If you have not followed the series before, you need to start from the beginning. While Zanetti does a great job of summarizing as we go along, you will miss out on so many laughs and cries. 

This was my favorite book of the series so far, and I loved the sneak peak we get into what will be happening next... ;)

My Rating: 5 Stars!

Links to Buy:

About the Author:
New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Rebecca Zanetti has worked as an art curator, Senate aide, lawyer, college professor, and a hearing examiner - only to culminate it all in stories about Alpha males and the women who claim them. She writes dark paranormals, romantic suspense, and sexy contemporary romances.

Out With the Old, In With the New

Well Ladies and Gents, 2014 is almost over. It seems to have been a crazy year for most. I must claim part of that group for I couldn't even find time to blog, but twice. 

This year I finished my Associates Degree in Accounting, lost 35 lbs, adopted a cat who is secretly plotting to take over the world (or at least the kitchen cabinets), and discovered a love for shoes made in Israel. 

What's up for 2015? Well I was accepted back into Purdue University for Spring 2015. I am very excited to complete my Agricultural Economics Degree in Fall 2015 (December). This will be a crazy year, but with much less family drama. I am very excited to get back to blogging every week!!

I have spent the day on Netgalley, Goodreads, and catching up with emails from Authors and friends. Can't wait for you all to read my newest reviews!!!

Happy Holidays!!!


Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Review: Bite Me by Shelly Laurenston

Summary: Livy Kowalski has no time for idiots. When you shapeshift into a honey badger, getting through life’s irritants is a finely honed skill. Until she gets stuck housing her nutso cousin and dealing with her dad’s untimely and unexplained demise.

That’s where Vic Barinov comes in—or his house does. Vic can’t step outside without coming back to find Livy devouring his honey stash and getting the TV remote sticky. It gets his animal instincts all riled up. But he’ll have to woo her at high speed: all hell is breaking loose, and Livy is leading the charge

My Thoughts: 
In my experience any book that Laurenston writes is going to be fabulous, but this one is truly one of her best. In this series there is the expectation that the book will have some extremely funny moments, some new love, and some ass kicking. What I loved about this book was that it seemed to take all of those expectations and surpass them without even trying.

You will laugh out loud when you read this book, so it is best not to read it at work (like I tried to do) because you will only embarrass yourself. Livy is HILARIOUS! I don't think I have laughed this hard since Blayne's book. Just some of her thoughts were enough to make me chuckle. 

I was happy to see more of a progression in the big story line of the series. I won't go into too much detail because I don't want to spoil it for anyone, but I feel like we finally got some answers as to what was happening with the dead shifters. Thank goodness because the last book did very little to move the story along. Now my only question is will there be another one because I still have questions, and still kind of confused as to the involvement of some of the characters. 

On a side note, the Honey badgers are officially my favorite!

If you have not read any of the books in this series, I do not recommend starting with this one. You will be confused! Start with the first book so that you can understand what bigger story line I am talking about!

To summarize, I loved it. This book will go on that pretty shelf that I keep all my favorites on. :)

Buy Links:

About the Author:
Originally from Long Island, New York, Shelly Laurenston has resigned herself to West Coast living which involves healthy food, mostly sunny days, and lots of guys not wearing shirts when they really should be. Shelly Laurenston is also The New York Times Bestselling author G.A. Aiken, creator of the Dragon Kin series. For more info on G.A.'s dangerously and arrogantly sexy dragons, check out her website at 

Friday, December 20, 2013

Cover Reveal: Seducing Lauren by Kristen Proby

We are pleased to be able to share the cover for Kristen Proby's SEDUCING LAUREN. SEDUCING LAUREN is a sexy Contemporary Erotic Romance novel releasing August 19, 2014! It is the second book in Kristen’s Love Under The Big Sky Series, published by Pocket Books (an imprint of Simon & Schuster). The first book in the series, LOVING CARA, is due to be released January 21st!!!



In the second book in the Love Under the Big Sky series from this USA TODAY bestselling author of the With Me in Seattle series, life in Montana gets spicy when a woman and her divorce lawyer sign off the papers—and sign on to love.
Now that his best friend, Josh, has happily settled down with his true love on a Montana ranch, small-town lawyer Ty Sullivan starts thinking that maybe single life isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. And when Lauren Cunningham’s no-good ex-husband comes after her for an unexpected trust fund, Ty steps in to protect her. But soon he can’t help but think of her as more than a client. Lauren’s in no mood to jump into another relationship, so how can Ty convince her that her mistake wasn’t getting married, but marrying the wrong guy?


KRISTEN PROBY is the USA Today bestselling author of the popular With Me in Seattle series. She has a passion for a good love story and strong characters who love humor and have a strong sense of loyalty and family. Her men are the alpha type—fiercely protective and a bit bossy—and her ladies are fun, strong, and not afraid to stand up for themselves. Kristen spends her days with her muse in the Pacific Northwest. She enjoys coffee, chocolate, and sunshine. And naps. Visit her at


Twitter: @handbagjunkie

Thursday, December 19, 2013

Review: Sex Love Repeat by Alessandra Torre

I love two men. I screw two men. I am in a relationship with them both, and they are both aware there is another. That is all they need to know, that is all I let them know. They don’t need to know a name; they don’t need to know anything but that they are not alone in my heart. 

They have accepted the situation. Stewart, because his life is too busy for the sort of obligations that are required in a relationship. Paul, because he loves me too much to tell me no. And because my sexual appetite is such that one man has trouble keeping up. 

So we exist, two parallel relationships, each running their own course, with no need for intersection or conflict. It works for us, for them, and for me. I don’t expect it to be a long-term situation. I know there is an expiration date on the easy perfection of our lives. 

I should have paid more attention, should have looked around and noticed the woman who watched it all. She sat in the background and waited, tried to figure me out. Saw my two relationships, the love between us, and the moment that it all fell apart. 

She hates me. 
I don’t even know she exists. 
She loves them. I love them. 
And they love me. 

EVERYTHING else hangs in the balance.

My Thoughts:

***I received a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review***

I was so excited to receive this book! The summary sounded right up my alley and I could not wait to get started. Madison is the type of female character I love! She is strong, sexy, and comfortable in her own skin. She has no problem wanting and liking sex. Why should boys get to have all the fun?  :)

At the beginning of the book, I had no idea how it was going to develop. Will it finish as a menage? Will one man step down? Will she loose them both? Am I going to be annoyed with a love triangle?To many feels!!!!

I loved the relationship that Madison has developed with both Stewart and Paul. While they both obviously see to her physical needs, they both also give her something the other one cannot. Stewart is more the demanding and controlling type of man. Paul, while still possessive and you can tell at times he struggles with letting Madison go to Stewart, is much more affectionate and is able to spend more time with her. She loves them both. At first I didn't understand how, but luckily Ms. Torre took us back to the beginning where it all started so that we could see how Madison's love progressed for each man.

That "she" mentioned in the blurb? Did not see that one coming. Off all of the people to fall in love with, and the Universe chose those two? Must be fate! :)

The only thing that kept this from being a five star read was the ending. Don't get me wrong, it seems everyone gets their HEA.....but I'm selfish and I wanted more. I felt it just came together too quickly and much too clean. There was some angst, but right as you started to feel disappeared. Don't short me on my feels! 

Overall this is a great read and I loved how original it felt. It is rare to get a book that does not remind you of another. Great job Ms. Torre.  :)

My Rating: 4 Stars!

Links to Buy:

About the Author:

Checkout her webpage for more information
Or visit her on Facebook and Twitter

Thursday, November 28, 2013

Feature & Follow

Q: What’s your favorite Thanksgiving Day food? If you’re not American or Canadian, what is your favorite holiday food?

My favorite Thanksgiving Day food would have to be stuffing. I love the turkey, the potatoes, yams, and rolls, but there is just something about the stuffing that is just perfect! If I had it my way I would have it more often, but then I would probably get tired of it. :(

What is your favorite Thanksgiving Day food?